Gaius' Institutes
( AD 160-162 )

Comment. I

Comment. II

Comment. III

Comment. IV

    The Institutes of Gaius are divided into four books : the first treating of persons and the differences of the status they may occupy in the eye of the law ; the second of things, and the modes in which rights over them may be acquired, including the law relating to wills ; the third of intestate succession and of obligations ; and the fourth of actions and their forms. The work was lost to modern scholars, until, in 1816, a manuscript was discovered by Barthold-Georges Niebuhr in the chapter library of Verona, in which some of the works of St Jerome were written over some earlier writings, which proved to be the lost work of Gaius.

Polenaar's edition   •   Seckel & Kuebler's edition